Worker Power Update

Electing Pro-Worker Candidates


CWAers in Texas at a rally supporting Beto O'Rourke for Governor.

Earlier last month, CWA Local 6143 organized a Beto for Governor Kick Off event in San Antonio, Texas, to build support for Beto O'Rourke in the upcoming Texas gubernatorial election. CWA Local 6143 President Geronimo Guerra and Legislative Coordinator Charles Fuentes, along with local activists, joined hundreds of supporters to rally in support of Beto, a champion of working people, who is running against incumbent Governor, Greg Abbott.

It's time for competent leadership in Texas that fights for the interests of working class people across the state. CWAers in Texas and across the country will continue to support pro-worker candidates like Beto in upcoming elections.

###

Build Back Better

On the eve of Thanksgiving, the House of Representatives passed the Build Back Better Act, a nearly $2 trillion, bipartisan spending package that will provide essential support to working families and ease the burden caused by the pandemic by expanding access to preschool and child care, extending the Child Tax Credit, instituting paid family and medical leave, allowing Medicare to negotiate prescription drug prices, imposing substantial penalties on employers and executives who break labor laws, providing $350 million in additional funding for the National Labor Relations Board, and much more.

CWA members have mobilized over the past few months to build support for this legislation and ensure that key priorities remain in it. The bill has now moved to the Senate and we have to continue doing everything we can to enact this crucial legislation into law. Next Thursday, December 9, at 6pm ET/ 5pm CT/ 4pm MT/ 3pm PT, join fellow CWAers for a national phone bank and tell your Senators to support working families by voting for the Build Back Better Act. Click here to RSVP.

###

Freedom to Vote Act

The Senate has an opportunity to repair our political system and strengthen our democracy. S.1, The Freedom to Vote Act, is a bold and sweeping reform bill that will make it easier, not harder, to vote and get big money out of our democracy. Next Tuesday, December 7, join the national day of action by calling your Senator at 1-855-971-0720 and telling them to support S.1.