Worker Power Update

Electing Pro-Worker Candidates

CWA backed candidates won big during the Atlanta run-off election last Tuesday. Andre Dickens, son of a retired CWA Local 3204 member won the mayoral race and Doug Shipman was elected as the new city council president. Both candidates were supported by CWA members who mobilized, held phone banks, and texted voters to turn out and support these pro-worker candidates. CWA activists in District 3 and across the country will be mobilizing to build on these wins in upcoming elections in 2022.

###

Build Back Better

The Senate has yet to vote on the Build Back Better Act, a nearly $2 trillion, bipartisan spending package that will provide essential support to working families and ease the burden caused by the pandemic by expanding access to preschool and child care, extending the Child Tax Credit, instituting paid family and medical leave, allowing Medicare to negotiate prescription drug prices, imposing substantial penalties on employers and executives who break labor laws, providing $350 million in additional funding for the National Labor Relations Board, and much more.

We have to continue putting pressure on the Senate to enact this crucial legislation into law. Today, at 6pm ET/ 5pm CT/ 4pm MT/ 3pm PT, join fellow CWAers for a national phone bank and tell your Senators to support working families by voting for the Build Back Better Act. Click here to RSVP.

###

Thanking Our Labor Champions

Over the last two weeks, CWAers across the country have been visiting Congressional offices to thank their representatives for supporting the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act and the Build Back Better Act. Click here to check out the great photos from these visits!