CWA Urges the Senate to Pass the Freedom to Vote Act

Tuesday, September 14, 2021

The Freedom to Vote Act introduced today by Senators Senators Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Angus King (I-Maine), Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), and Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.) is a critical step forward in protecting voting rights and reforming our democracy. This bill fights back against the systemic attacks by state legislatures designed to restrict voting rights and intimidate voters from participating in this fundamental pillar of our democracy.

The Freedom to Vote Act is a transformative piece of legislation that contains crucial provisions from the For the People Act, which passed the House earlier this year. It will protect the right to vote, end partisan gerrymandering, reduce the influence of big money in politics, strengthen our election infrastructure, and stop partisan election subversion.

CWA applauds the members of the Senate who have worked tirelessly to find common ground to protect this fundamental right and curtail the efforts of Republican led state legislatures to undermine our voting rights. We call on the Senate to pass this legislation without delay and take steps to abolish the archaic, racist, and undemocratic legislative filibuster so that all of us have a say in the decisions that impact our lives and the foundation of our democracy is preserved.


Press Contact: