Skip to main content

The NewsGuild Elects New Executive Council

Search News

Date Published Between

For the Media

For media inquiries, call CWA Communications at 202-434-1168 or email To read about CWA Members, Leadership or Industries, visit our About page.

January 12, 2023

On Saturday, delegates to the NewsGuild-CWA’s 2023 Nominating Conference met virtually to nominate candidates for the NewsGuild’s Executive Board. Because all candidates were running unopposed, they were elected by acclamation.

Jon Schleuss was elected to a second term as president. Schleuss is a member of the Media Guild of the West, TNG-CWA Local 39213. He was a data and graphics reporter at the Los Angeles Times prior to becoming president in 2019. Marian Needham was elected to a third term as executive vice president. Needham is a member of the Buffalo Newspaper Guild, TNG-CWA 31026. She was the administrative officer in Buffalo and hired by the international union in 1990, first as director of contract administration, and later as a sector representative. Diane Mastrull was elected for a first term as sector chairperson. Mastrull is an editor at the Philadelphia Inquirer and president of The NewsGuild of Greater Philadelphia, TNG-CWA Local 38010. She will replace Martha Waggoner, who served as chair since 2011.

The current members of the Executive Council will continue out their terms through the conclusion of the 2023 Sector Conference this July in St. Louis.