For up to date news and annoucements on Human Rights please click here.

The National Committee will:

  • Provide guidance and information to the districts and locals on the CWA Civil Rights and Equity program.
  • Keep the national Executive Board informed about civil and human rights issues that affect our members and communities, and when necessary offer a course of action.
  • Research, report and make recommendations to give direction to the convention delegates on current civil and human right issues.
  • Work along all sides of the CWA Triangle.

Major Program Goals

  • Work to fully integrate civil rightsissues with core work of the union.
  • Increase grassroots activity on civil rights issues.
  • Increase community visibility of CWA Civil Rights and Equity program.
  • Improve communications between CWA Civil Rights and Equity office and locals and activist.
  • Aggressively seek CWA representation in grassroots civil rights organizations that share our common goals.

National Civil Rights and Equity Committee Members

District 1
Reginald Pierre-Louis
Delegate Local 1106

District 2-13
Vera Mikell, President
CWA Local 2205

District 3
Fred Smith
CWA Local 3902

District 4
Diane Bailey*, President
CWA Local 4310

District 6
Gerald Murray, President
CWA Local 6507

District 7
Fernando Roman, Jr., Exec V.P.
CWA Local 7026

District 9
Ken Youngblood, Nevada Ass'n of Public Saftey Officers
CWA Local 9110

District 9
Domonique Thomas, President
Local 9510

Robert Barrow, President
AFA-CWA Local 26052

Evelyn Evans, Grievance Co-Chair
IUE-CWA Local 81381

Dorethea Brown-Maxey, President
NABET-CWA Local 54043

Public Sector
Kendall Bell, President
CWA Local 81381

Melissa Matos, Director
Human Rights Department

* Chair, Civil Rights & Equity Committee

Civil Rights and Equity District Coordinators

District 1
Tonya Moore

District 2-13
Elaine Harris

District 3
Angie Wells

District 4
Clinton Rodgers

District 6
Jerrell Miller

District 7
Paul Castenada

District 9
Robert Longer