Worker Power Update

CWAers Win Sick Leave Rights for Aviation Workers

Last Friday, thanks to the efforts of CWAers, other labor activists, and community allies, Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker signed HB 106 into law. The bill eliminates an unjust exemption that prevented aviation workers from utilizing sick leave to care for a family member or committed partner, rights that were granted to all other Illinois workers under the Illinois Sick Leave Act of 2017. In recent months, activists have called, emailed, and met with members of the legislature to encourage them to end the unjust exemption of aviation workers. We applaud our champions in the Illinois legislature for fighting for working families.

###

Build Back Better

Last Thursday, CWA activists and leaders including Linda Hinton, CWA District 4 Vice President; Brenda Roberts, CWA District 7 Vice President; Lisa Bolton, Telecommunications and Technologies Vice President; and Margaret Cook, PHEW-CWA Vice President participated in a national phone bank to build support for the Build Back Better Act. This was the eighth Build Back Better phone bank in a row. Participants dialed over 4,000 households to call on Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) to support the Build Back Better Act.

The Senate has yet to vote on the Build Back Better Act, a nearly $2 trillion, bipartisan spending package that will provide essential support to, and improve the lives of, working families across the country. CWAers will continue to put pressure on the Senate to enact this crucial legislation into law.


CWA activists participated in a national phone bank to build support for the Build Back Better Act.

###

Freedom to Vote Act

The Senate has an opportunity to repair our political system and strengthen our democracy. S.1, The Freedom to Vote Act, is a bold and sweeping reform bill that will make it easier, not harder, to vote and get big money out of our democracy. Today, at 6pm ET/ 5pm CT/ 4pm MT/ 3pm PT, join fellow CWAers for a national phone bank and tell your Senators to support the Freedom to Vote Act. Click here to join the phone bank when it is time.

###

Thanking Our Labor Champions

CWAers across the country have continued to visit Congressional offices to thank their representatives for supporting the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act and the Build Back Better Act. Click here to check out the great photos from these visits!