Beirne Scholarships Awarded for 2020-2021

The CWA Joe Beirne Foundation was established in October 1974 by the CWA Executive Board to honor the name and memory of the founding President of CWA, who served for more than 30 years.

Sixteen partial college scholarships of $4,000 each are being awarded for the 2020-2021 school year. Winners, selected in a lottery drawing, also will receive second-year scholarships of the same amount contingent upon satisfactory academic accomplishment. Part-time students, taking fewer than 12 credits, will receive half of the scholarship amount.

Eligible for the awards are CWA members and their spouses, children, and grandchildren, including those of retired or deceased members.

2020-2021 Winners:

Francine Gomes, daughter of Elizabeth Gomes, CWA Local 1031
Julian Nieves, son of Antonio Nieves, CWA Local 1037
Julian LeFlore, son of E’Lisha Walker-LaFlore, CWA Local 1085
Ethan Michael Gentile, son of Jonathon Gentile, CWA Local 1123
Autumn Tewksbury, daughter of Mark Tewksbury, CWA Local 1298
Jordan Brittingham, son of Tiffany Gladden, CWA Local 2108
Erika Icabalzeta, daughter of William Castro, CWA Local 3102
Darius Carraway, son of Dennis Carraway, CWA Local 3603
Aidyn Yaeger, daughter of Michael Yaeger, CWA Local 4008
Richard Wynn, grandson of Brian Douglass, CWA Local 4773
Deven Bruner, son of Dayna Bruner, CWA Local 6016
Miranda Smith, daughter of Adam Smith, CWA Local 6137
Josue Herrada, son of Josue Herrada, CWA Local 7777
Shane Louriano, grandson of Shirley Hope, CWA Local 9400
Kyra Payton, daughter of Donna Payton, CWA Local 9509
Rhiannon Hoffman, daughter of Kent Hoffman, CWA/SCA Canada Local 30213