# In Memoriam

### 2021 - 2023

Communications Workers of America 79th Convention July 2023

## In Memoriam

As we meet for the 79th convention of the Communications Workers of America, we remember those who are no longer with us.

We honor them and their contributions to building our union.

#### NOAH SAVANT

Noah Savant joined CWA when he began work as a coin telephone collector at South Central Bell in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and spent over 40 years as a member of CWA. He served as a steward and as a Vice President in charge of organizing for Local 3407, and he was elected to four consecutive terms as President of the local. He took pride in the fact that under his leadership his local had 100% participation in COPE and maintained an internal organizing record of at least 94%.

Noah became a CWA Staff Representative in 1987, was appointed as an Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of District 3, then Assistant to the Vice President. In 2005 he was elected Vice President of the district.

Noah retired in 2008. He died on June 4, 2022, at the age of 77.

#### **SUE PISHA**

Sue Pisha began working as a long-distance operator for Pacific Northwest Bell in 1961 and joined CWA Local 9201, which later became Local 7901. Sue served as a steward, chief steward, traffic vice president, and community services chair, and won election as the local's first woman president in 1975.

Sue had a passion for community service, adult education, and legislative advocacy. She was a founding board member of Labor's Community Service Agency, which provides referral and social services programs in Oregon and Southwest Washington, and a vice president of the United Way of the Columbia-Willamette. She was appointed by Oregon Governor Bob Straub to the Governor's Commission on Women and won a seat in the Oregon State Legislature in 1978.

Sue joined the District 7 staff as a CWA Representative in 1979, later becoming Area Director and Administrative Assistant to the Vice President of District 7 before winning election as Vice President of the district in 1992.

Sue retired in 1999 and returned to Oregon, where she was selected as a member of the Northwest Oregon Labor Hall of Fame. She died on June 29, 2023, at the age of 80.

#### **CONSTANCE "CONNIE" BRYANT**

**Connie Bryant** began working in the training office of the New York City Department of Transportation in 1963, rising through the ranks to become a Captain. She helped bring Locals 1181 and 1182 into CWA, and served as a steward, chief steward, grievance representative, vice president, and president of Local 1181.

Connie pioneered the position of Public Workers National Director, and in 1986 she was elected CWA's first Vice President for Public Workers. Connie was active in the Coalition of Black Trade Unionists and the A. Philip Randolph Institute, and worked as an instructor and coordinator for the Union Center for Labor Education and Advancement, training women at summer institutes.

Connie retired in 1994. She died on September 23, 2022, at the age of 85.

Mark Bixler, Area Director, District 9. March 31, 2023

**Ronnie Crider**, IUE-CWA Staff Representative. October 25, 2021

Laverne DePas, IUE-CWA Secretary. October 22, 2022

John Edgington, TNG-CWA Secretary-Treasurer. November 14, 2021

**Danny Fetonte**, Assistant to the Public Workers Vice President. October 23, 2022

Martha Flagge, Telecommunications and Technologies Staff Representative. October 30, 2022

Kathleen King, Staff Representative, District 1. April 29, 2022

**Jimmie Lamb**, IUE-CWA Staff Representative. February 19, 2023

Karen Lee, AFA-CWA Membership Services Coordinator. August 18, 2022

**Dan Mahoney**, Assistant to the President, NABET-CWA. March 31, 2023

William McLeman, TNG-CWA Staff Representative. August 15, 2022

Kenneth Moffett, Assistant to the President, NABET-CWA. October 28, 2022

Kathy Mulvey Brennan, TNG-CWA Director of Collective Bargaining and Guild Coordinator. December 20, 2021

**Bruce Nelson**, TNG-CWA Staff Representative. January 10, 2023

La Rene Paul, Area Director, District 9. March 26, 2023

Hannah Jo Rayl, TNG-CWA Staff Representative. January 27, 2022

**Donald Rice**, Staff Representative, District 1. October 18, 2022

John "Jack" Shea, IUE-CWA Director of Organizing. August 19, 2022

**David Van Os**, District 6 Legal Counsel. January 3, 2023

**Pat Warren**, Staff Representative, District 3. May 27, 2022

#### We remember the CWA Local Officers who have passed away since our last convention.

#### **DISTRICT 1**

George Alcott III, President, Local 1301 Al Luzzi, Southern Vice President, Local 1101 Joseph Manley, Northern Vice President, Local 1101

#### **DISTRICT 2-13**

Robert J. Asmussen Jr., Secretary-Treasurer, Local 2108 Edward Carr, President, Local 13000 Patricia "Patti" Eckhart, Secretary-Treasurer, Local 2205 Richard Evanoski, President, Local 13571 Kelvin Gunn, Executive Vice President, Local 2336 Earl Johnson, Executive Vice President, Local 2108 Steve Stasenko Jr., President, Local 14842

#### **DISTRICT 3**

Larry Dale Taylor, Vice President, Local 3803 William "Lyn" Deloach, President, Local 3106 Sharon DeSantis, Secretary, Local 3104 Larry Gardner, Vice President, Local 3310 John Haber, President, Local 3109 Vernice Hickmon, Secretary-Treasurer, Local 3681 Lynn Jernigan, President, Local 3879 Tim Ross, Executive Board Delegate, Local 3104

#### **DISTRICT 4**

Tom Grenfell, President, Local 14503 Dominic Guadagni, President, Local 4009 Ed Lowdenslager, President, Local 4773 Merlin Milton, President, Local 4004 David Ormsby, President, Local 4012/4013 Marilyn Peterson, President, Local 4621

#### **DISTRICT 6**

Ken Conner, President, Local 6171 Ron Dye, President, Local 6016 Nancy Hall, Executive Vice President, Local 6215 Jim Valentour, Executive Vice President, Local 6450

#### **DISTRICT** 7

Kenneth John Horn, President, Local 7803 Orville Lehmann, President, Local 7743 Joseph F. Naunchik, President, Local 7781

#### **DISTRICT 9**

William "Bill" Demers, President, Local 9400 Greg Gibson, President, Local 9586 Michael Hartigan, Executive Vice President, Local 9400 Climmie King-Johnson, Secretary-Treasurer, Local 9003 Frank RaPue, Vice President, Local 9400

#### AFA-CWA

Diane Lyons, President, Local 24057

#### **IUE-CWA**

John Adams, President, Local 81359 Scott Burns, President, Local 84802 Elmo Desilva, President, Local 81076 Gerald Langhone Jr., President, Local 84463 Louis Laviano, President, Local 81103

#### NABET-CWA

Linda Dielman, President, Local 54412 Gene Garnes, Secretary, Local 51011 Edward Jones, Vice President, Local 51211 Serafin Menduina, Vice President, Local 51016 Bob Schedlbower, Vice President, Local 54043

#### NewsGuild-CWA

Manny Suarez, President, Local 33225

We remember their dedication to the members of our union, and we honor them by continuing the fight for workers' rights for all.